The Gilded Ones

Thank you to @penguinbooksya for sending me a copy of this book. (and some other goodies)

I have been wanting to read this since I’ve first seen the synopsis on Goodreads. This beautiful cover binds a powerful story of a world where girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice. This West African inspired fantasy series is perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

About this Book:

Are we girls or are we demons?

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman’s worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold – the colour of impurity, of a demon – she faces a consequence worse than death. She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: She is Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed…

My thoughts?

I loved it! It is deliciously complex and as far as book 1 in a series goes this one brought it all! This Western Africa inspired world gave me all the depth that I love this continent for. It’s brutal, it’s brave, it’s honest. This is in no way a ‘fluffy feel good read’ – it’s an empowering one. This book holds up a mirror to a society that doesn’t just physically oppress women, but alienate them for being different as well.

A complex magic system, cunning politics and a sweet, blossoming young love. This is YA fantasy at its best!
@namina.forna is a force to be reckoned with and I cannot wait to see what she has instore for us in the second book.

There is so many triggers in this book, so please be warned. With compelling writing I found myself stuck to the pages of this beautiful book. If you like African inspired fantasies, you definitely should not miss this one!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s