January 2021 Releases on my Wishlist

It’s been a hot minute since I’ve last been able to sit down and write one of these, but I’m super excited to be back! So let’s kick things off with my January 2021 releases wishlist. Now I truly cannot give you my opinion on these books yet, as I haven’t read them. But these are the ones that I’m the most excited about and which I am truly trying to add to my shelf.

So let’s jump in!

A Vow So Bold and Deadly by Brigid Kemmerer

Hardcover, 416 pages

Published January 26th 2021 by Bloomsbury YA

ISBN 1547602589 (ISBN 13: 9781547602582)

Firstly, as a fellow #cursebreaker, I have been waiting on this book since Feb 2020. I am experiencing severe Fomo because I am not currently living in Emberfall and author, Brigid Kemmerer has made me wait so long to return. A Vow So Bold and Deadly is book 3 in the series, and yes I am a MAJOR FAN! This book promises to be the BIG FINALE, the EPIC CONCLUSION and most likely the one that will rip your heart out. Sides have been chosen and we are off to war. *spoiler alert* Emberfall is torn between Rhen and Grey. Rhen has turned away from everyone, including Harper, as she desperately tries to help him find a path. Fight the battle, Save the Kingdom. Syhl Shallow is facing a difficult transition of power, and Lia Mara is fighting to keep her crown. As two kingdoms come closer in conflict, loyalties are tested, love is threatened and an old enemy resurfaces.

We free the stars by Hafsah Faizal

Hardcover, 592 pages

Published January 19th 2021 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux

ISBN 0374311579 (ISBN 13: 978-0374311575)

“The battle on Sharr is over. The dark forest has fallen. Altair may be captive, but Zafira, Nasir, and Kifah are bound for Sultan’s Keep, determined to finish the plan he set in motion: restoring the hearts of the Sisters of Old to the minarets of each caliphate, and finally returning magic to all of Arawiya. But they are low on resources and allies alike, and the kingdom teems with fear of the Lion of the Night’s return.” – GoodReads. I am beyond excited to go back to this mystical land and it’s mysterious characters. The cliffhanger at the end of We hunt the flame gave me a serious book hangover and I honestly cannot wait to see what will become of our huntress.

Tales from the Hinterland by Melissa Albert

Hardcover, 240 pages

Published January 12th 2021 by Flatiron Books

ISBN 1250302722 (ISBN 13: 9781250302724

I will be completely honest when I say, the Hazelwood wasn’t one of my favourite all time reads. However, the Hinterland fascinates me immensely, and that is why this book is on my list. I need more twisted fairytales in my life. I love retellings and a world built around twisted fairy tales sounds like my perfect storyworld. This book contains 12 illustrated fairy tales from the Author of the Hazelwood and the Night Country.

Lore by Alexandra Bracken

Hardcover, 480 pages

Published January 5th 2021 by Disney-Hyperion

ISBN 1484778200 (ISBN 13: 9781484778203)

It’s Greek Mythology! Need I say more? This book has been making waves all around as one of the most anticipated releases of 2021 and I need it! Plus I mean that cover just -gah! The Beauty! This tale promises a whirlwind of excitement and adrenaline as we travel to a world where the Greek gods are forced to walk the earth as mortals after a failed rebellion. And they will be hunted by descendants of ancient bloodlines who want to grab their power and immortality! If that isn’t enough, there is revenge, mystery and allies promised for this book – and I NEED IT NOW!

A Thousand Ships by Natalie Haynes

Hardcover, 368 pages

Published January 26th 2021 by Harper (first published May 2nd 2019)

ISBN 0063065398 (ISBN 13: 9780063065390)

A Trojan War retelling from the perspectives of the many women involved? Where do I sign up?! Okay yeah, it’s another Greek history inspired story, and I maybe have found a renewed love and appreciation for these stories after Circe by Madeleine Miller and the Greek heroes series by Rick Riordan. But I am really excited about this one. We often focus on the returning heroes of war stories and forget about the women who were expected to stay at home and survive in times where they had no power to do so. So yes, I’m definitely reading this.

Crown of Bones by A.K. Wilder

Hardcover, 490 pages

Published January 5th 2021 by Entangled: Teen

ISBN 1640634142 (ISBN 13: 9781640634145)

This cover just screams my name. This fantasy promises a sweeping adventure, breathtaking action and unforgettable characters. With a catch line like – Raise. Your. Phantom. – I am all in! A group of unlikely allies having to save their world and hide some secrets and be all mysterious about what to expect. A lowly scribed destined for more. Yeah, I need to know. (Ignoring my glaring tbr)

Wings of Ebony by J. Elle

Hardcover, 368 pages

Published January 26th 2021 by Denene Millner Books/Simon Schuster Books for Young Readers

ISBN 1534470670 (ISBN 13: 9781534470675)

Demigods, magic, and lurking evil. Yeah this is right up my alley. And of course I am a huge fan of the Hunger Games and they do recommend this for fans of the Hunger Games. So ofcourse I need this. (Can I add my own alibi card to this purchase?) In this debut fantasy, a Black teen from Houston has her world upended when she learns about her godly ancestry–and with evil sinking its claws into humans and gods alike, she’ll have to unearth the magic of her true identity to save both her worlds.

Cast In Firelight By Dana Swift

Hardcover, 448 pages

Published January 19th 2021 by Delacorte Press

ISBN 0593124219 (ISBN 13: 9780593124215)

This book is just all kinds of YES! The cover, the synopsis, everything is just – YES!From the The first book in an epic, heart-pounding fantasy duology about two royal heirs betrothed to be married, but whose loyalties are torn, and a ruthless enemy who threatens their world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Hafsah Faizal, and Renée Ahdieh

Amari and the Night Brothers by B.B. Alston

Hardcover, 416 pages

Published January 19th 2021 by Balzer + Bray

ISBN 0062975161 (ISBN 13: 9780062975164)

I have fallen in love all over with some of the most amazing Middle grade reads and therefor my list will not be complete without adding at least one Middle Grade title to it. Amari Peters is a 13yr old girl, whose older brother has gone mysteriously missing. She can’t understand why it’s not a bigger deal. But she soon discovers there more to her brother than meets the eye when she finds a ticking briefcase in his closet. She has been nominated by him for the summer tryout at the Bureau of Supernatural Affairs. With many magical things happening in this story, it’s definitely an auto buy for me.

I hope you have found my wishlist helpful. Please share your most anticipated January releases in the comment section.

2 thoughts on “January 2021 Releases on my Wishlist

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s