Welcome to the Grishaverse

Let me start off by saying there is definitely an order to these books. I have not read them in the correct order which did impact my experience.

There are definitely spoilers if you read them out of order.

I will however be reviewing them in order.

The Shadow and Bone Trilogy

The trilogy follows the story of Alina Starkov. A young girl finding her way as a mapmaker in the first army. After years of suppressing her grisha powers, Alina displays her powers in front of the Darkling himself.

“The problem with wanting,” he whispered, his mouth trailing along my jaw until it hovered over my lips, “is that it makes us weak.”

Shadow and Bone, Leigh Bardugo

Launching into an epic tale of Kings and Darklings, Alina starts to question herself, her loyalities, her friends and her love. Trying to save herself and Ravka, Alina makes the ulitmate sacrifice. Filled with Magic, mystical creatures, epic battles and love – this trilogy offers enough romance for a none fantasy reader to enjoy as well.

Six of crows Duology

Following a gang in the notorious Ketterdam, the Six of Crows plays out as a heist of ridiculous proportions. I found myself asking if 17 year old’s a really capable of all the plotting and planning, mind tricks and scheming that Bardugo has them execute in this book. Six of Crows is not only the title of the book, but a collective name for the gang – 6 kids from the Dregs (whose symbol is a crow.) These kids have horrible backstories, making them misfits and cast outs of society. Bardugo addresses a serious issue of societies role in shaping a criminal, the impact of slavery and orphanages and the key role a loving parent can play.

As far as sequels go, I really enjoyed Crooked Kingdom. Filled with revenge and even more scheming and planning. You meet some of the Grisha from the Shadow and Bone Trilogy as well as famous Privateer Sturmhond. Building on the story line, Bardugo focuses on reunion, forgiveness and love (all though there could be more of this) in this book. No matter what you did, you can always find your way home. This book has left me unsatisfied – I am hoping for another book, or even a novella.

No Mourners, No Funerals

Six of Crows, Leigh Bardugo

Language of Thorns

The Language of Thorns is a collection of Short stories based on the folk tales of Grishaverse. This read adds value to the Novels of the Grishaverse. It is not a must read in order to complete the series, but I do recommend you read it as it is quite enjoyable.

King of Scars

The much anticipated novel, King of Scars, follows the story of Nikolai Lantsov – King, Privateer and busybody. Pulling the Shadow and Bone Trilogy and the Six of Crows Duology together, the King of Scars focuses on the final epic battle for Ravka and the Grisha. With a very dramatic cliffhanger ending, I am still suffering from my bookhangover on this one.

“It’s not exciting if nothing can go wrong.” 

King of Scars, Leigh Bardugo

I have to be honest I am slightly disappointed as I would have loved to see more of the gang from Crooked Kingdom and I felt that this book was one big build up for the one to follow. But nevertheless Bardugo has once again out done herself with compelling writing and story line.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s